Dear Love #8 January 30, 2016

Dear Love,

My daily routine is back on track. I am doing things that I need to do and things that I enjoy. Tonight, I spent my time dancing with friends, some old and some new. The not so distant memories of you that plagued me are a pinprick, and I know the wound is healing. But the scar tissue is still there. The seemingly “nice” hello and offer for a drink is met with with criticism and doubt. I want to let go of this protective layer, but in all honesty, I think it may be a better idea to keep it. The idea of letting a stranger in without knowing you are an accompanying party is intimidating to say the least. To find a balance of intrigue, safety, intelligence, morals, and adventure is daunting. But, at least at this moment, I am content to continue dancing with those who are listening to the same drummer.

Leave a Reply

