“Relax”

Light dimmed, but still on my face. With squinted eyes my limbs are bent and pulled at odd angles.

“Relax”, They say.

Right…..with muscles crunched and bones out of place. When it aches to sit and aches to stretch.

When all I want is to feel the bar in my fist and the weight burning my arms.

“Not yet”.

So I wait. I stretch and visit and follow the orders.

Feet together and swung through the air.

“Hopefully, just 5 more visits, and no running!”

I know they mean well, so I smile and obey.

But I miss the feeling of sweat and the gratification of gaining my strength.

I like the constant and stress reliever.

I keep my routine, and read instead.

Hopefully soon They will respond…

“Okay, go.”

4 thoughts on ““Relax”

  1. Beautifully written post! I was right there with you. I have felt this before, and it’s no fun, but keep going and do what they say. Don’t rush it. Hang in there, friend!

  2. Did you injure yourself? I’m so sorry. I know how frustrating it is when you can’t exercise your body the way you’re used to. But physical therapists know what they are doing.
    (but I have a question: is something missing between “follow the orders.” and “feet together”? or should “feet” have an upper-case f?)

Leave a Reply

