Diagnosed

Some of you may know that I’ve been having problems with leg, hip, and muscle pain for a while now. Last year I had to take an exercise sabbatical since the pain was so bad. It hurt way too much to continue weight training. Sitting was beginning to hurt. Thinking it was muscular I went to a physical therapy/ chiropractic office. I was ordered to stay off my feet and see them for a few months. Slowly the pain became more manageable and the frequency of pain decreased quite a bit. I put on about 10 pounds as it was difficult to find the balance in my diet when I wasn’t working out most days. So after about 5 months I felt strong enough to at least start doing cardio again and enrolled in an aerobics class. After about a month of doing this every so often the pain came back with a vengeance!    Still believing it was muscular I went back to physio. All this must be able to be explained and healed. I mean I am in the best shape I’ve ever been in! But it didn’t and on a particularly bad night riding a camel in Morocco I began to realize this problem must be a lot more severe than I ever imagined. So for the past few weeks I’ve been trying to understand it by visiting multiple orthopedics. Words like disease and hip replacement are being thrown around and then the fear set in. After finally being denied access to an American doctor by my insurance, the real hunt for someone to explain what is happening to my body began. I’m still unsure of a lot and plan to see another ortho when I get access to a doctor that won’t cost me an arm and a leg (haha) but the situation is becoming clearer. My official diagnosis as of now is displastic coxarthrosis of the left hip due to hip diaplasia or femoral necrosis. But the doctor believes this began a long time ago. There is no way to know for sure, according to him, but he believes I had a rare childhood disease called perthes which you can read about by clicking the link. While mostly diagnosed in young boys, some cases are found in girls as well, and the damage is usually much more severe. The jist is that somehow blood flow to the ball of the hip is disrupted and causes the bone to deform and not develop properly. The symptoms are all very familiar. I don’t remember the number of comments I had growing up about the way I walked or the nights I was in pain from growing pains (or so we all thought). The fact that I became obese was also not helpful. Nor was all the weightlifting and running I did for the past few years. Now I am looking at a complete hip replacement in the next 10 to 15 years, which is terrifying to me. I also need to keep going to physio to rebuild strength in my left side and to learn how to walk while using an orthopedic insert since my left femur, so my leg itself, is about an inch shorter. I have been wearing said insert and the ache in my leg is pretty intense as I will begin the process of realigning my pelvis and all the muscles on my left side. I’m being ordered to lose more weight to relieve the pressure on my hip and a laundry list of other rules that no 31 year old should be dealing with, especially because if this was caught when I was still developing. As of now the damage is done and my options are much more limited. I foresee a lot more emotional ups and downs with this and hopefully more writing as a better way to get out everything that has been building up inside. But I’m working on getting my light back, so hang in there with me folks! 
Here is what I got today, support tape to help with something, haha my brain is on overload at the moment. 

Leave a Reply

